Declaration Contexts and Default Access Levels

This article tells which declared elements you can use in other declared elements, and their access levels.

Declaration contexts

The declaration context of a programming element is the part of the code in which it is declared. Frequently this is a different programming element, which is also known as the container element.

The levels of declaration contexts follow:

Access levels

The table that follows shows the default access levels for many declared elements, given their declaration contexts.

Declared element Statements Namespace level Module level Procedure level
Variable Dim/Var, New, Object Not permitted TBD TBD
Constant Const Not permitted TBD TBD
Enumeration Enum TBD TBD TBD
Class Class TBD TBD TBD
Structure Struct TBD TBD TBD
Trait Trait TBD TBD TBD
Method Method TBD TBD TBD
Property Property TBD TBD TBD
Declare Declare TBD TBD TBD
Function Function TBD TBD TBD
Event Event TBD TBD TBD

See also